As a vegetarian, I can personally tell you that it takes strict planning to consistently stick with a totally animal-free diet—particularly when you have to deal with an array of foods that appear to have no traces of animal products and byproducts, but actually do.
Here are seven not-so-obvious vegan- and vegetarian-offending foods…
Red, orange, yellow, green—Gummy Bears appear to be a fruit flavored bevy of sugary teddies. However, what you might not realize is that store-bought candies, like gummy bears, starburst, and candy corn, actually contain gelatin, an animal-based ingredient.
The gelatin found in many store-bought candies, and even Jello and marshmallows, gives products that “gummy” texture, but is also derived from the protein of animal by-products (a mixture of animal skin, tendons, bones, and ligaments).